Home News Wal-Mart Soundcheck™ Announces Upcoming Exclusive Studio Performances by Rascal Flatts, Goo Goo Dolls and Jewel

Wal-Mart Soundcheck™ Announces Upcoming Exclusive Studio Performances by Rascal Flatts, Goo Goo Dolls and Jewel

BRISBANE, Calif. & BENTONVILLE, Ark. (Mar. 2, 2006) – Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. announces the additions of Rascal Flatts, Jewel and Goo Goo Dolls to Wal-Mart Soundcheck,™ an original music performance series dedicated to bringing exclusive music content to customers in stores and online at Walmart.com ( www.walmart.com/soundcheck).

“Watching and hearing superstar musicians like Rascal Flatts, Goo Goo Dolls and Jewel perform original, intimate versions of their music on Wal-Mart Soundcheck allows our customers to experience music in a unique and personal way,” said Kevin Swint, Wal-Mart’s divisional merchandise manager for digital media. “We believe that the 30-day digital exclusive of ‘What Hurts the Most’ by Rascal Flatts further underscores our commitment to provide exclusive music content to our customers from their favorite artists.”

Wal-Mart Soundcheck gives customers an insider’s look at both emerging and superstar musicians giving intimate studio performances as well as exclusive interviews. The performances are featured nationwide every month in stores on Wal-Mart TV and the HDTV wall in the Electronics department, and are also available digitally to view and download for 88 cents each at Walmart.com. The artist selection comprises performers from an array of music genres, including rock, pop, punk, country, hip-hop and R&B.

Upcoming Wal-Mart Soundcheck Artists and Dates:
Rascal Flatts

* Wal-Mart Soundcheck performance – live April 4
* Walmart.com digital exclusive of “What Hurts the Most” – March 7 - April 3
* Digital preorder of upcoming album Me and My Gang with bonus interview – March 21
* Album release Me and My Gang – available April 4
* Exclusive CD + bonus CD 2-pack – available April 4
* Exclusive live track “I Melt” – available April 4
Goo Goo Dolls
* Wal-Mart Soundcheck performance – live April  25
*Album release Let Love In – available April  25
* Wal-Mart Soundcheck performance – live May 2
* Album release Goodbye Alice in Wonderland – available May 2

Performances on Wal-Mart Soundcheck are co-sponsored through a media partnership with Gillette Fusion razors, and are set to tape at various recording studios throughout the year.

This month on Wal-Mart Soundcheck
* Miranda Lambert (live March 14)
* Yellowcard (live now)
* Switchfoot (live now)
* R&B sensation Ne-Yo (live now)

What’s Available in Stores
Several two- to three-minute sneak previews of each performance will air nationwide in more than 3,000 stores on the HDTV wall in the Electronics department. A viewing event of the complete 30- to 40-minute performance on Wal-Mart TV will take place every few weeks on a Friday night. Wal-Mart will also promote Soundcheck performances on both Wal-Mart Radio and Wal-Mart TV.

What’s Available Online at Walmart.com
The full 30- to 40-minute performance and exclusive interviews are available to stream online at Walmart.com at no cost; audio tracks of the performance can also be downloaded for 88 cents each. The kick-off performances are now available online at www.walmart.com/soundcheck.

About Wal-Mart
Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. operates Wal-Mart Stores, Supercenters, Neighborhood Markets and SAM’S CLUB locations in the United States. Internationally, the company operates in Argentina, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, Japan, Mexico, Puerto Rico, South Korea and the United Kingdom. The company’s securities are listed on the New York and Pacific stock exchanges under the symbol WMT. More information about Wal-Mart can be found by visiting www.walmartfacts.com. Online merchandise sales are available at www.walmartfacts.com. Online merchandise sales are available at www.walmart.com.